Skip navigation

This week’s blog post is my thoughts on men of the 21st Century. (Also, I realise I have technically posted this week, but the previous post was actually written on Jan 1st.)

Over Christmas BBC One showed a programme called ‘Death Comes to Pemberley” and this is the murder-mystery follow up to Pride and Prejudice-one of my favourite films (and yes, I am aware it was a book, but I have not yet managed to get round to reading it.) Having watched the BBC programme it got me in the mood for the film, so I sat and relived Mr Darcy fall in love with Elizabeth Bennett all over again, and it got me thinking-what happened between then and now so that men no longer treat women like that?

In those days, a woman walked into a room and they were bowed to and looked upon as beautiful creatures to marry. Nowadays we walk into a bar and get our bums or some other part ogled and grabbed at before being offered a bed for the night. Definitely not the height of romance.

Having been a singleton for the last year, I have been thrown back into the dating scene, which seems to consist of waiting an allotted amount of time before receiving a text (usually a Sunday evening having met Saturday Night-an acceptable amount of time I would say.) and then writing a clever and witty response, waiting half an hour and then sending it, before waiting nervously for their response (no doubt they are also waiting before sending their seemingly off the cuff humour, but actually having written and re read it a hundred times) wondering if you have said something too out there and if you have now put them off before anything has begun.

While out a couple of weeks back, I met an American who subsequently took me on a date, and this was a date like no other. I don’t know if it is the cultural difference between English men and American men, but he came and picked me up, got out of the car to open the door for me and paid for dinner (and didn’t try to tell me how much the bill was like another date I have been on!)

Obviously I am not tarring every man with the same brush, I know there are still some good ones out there, but it is so disheartening when I go out and am greeted by ‘alright darlin” and when I say I’m not interested, I get an insult spat my way. I signed up to the Disney ending, where I meet my Prince Charming and he whisks me off into the sunset and we live happily ever after. Not an image where I meet Prince Sleazy who is all too eager to whisk me into a taxi back to his place, followed by an awkward conversation and a walk of shame the next day. No thanks.

I am quite picky when it comes to the opposite sex, which will probably come across in future blogs, (unless of course Prince Charming is reading this in which case I could be blogging something completely different in the future) but I think that my desires are fairly normal. Someone who respects me, isn’t just after one thing, and doesn’t text me every two seconds and then again when I don’t reply within ten minutes. Perhaps I am just hard to please.

Leave a comment